Jack Wolder Biography

My name is Jack Wolder and I have just finished my season with the Calgary Royals Minor Midget Gold AAA team.   I am a big defenseman who likes to play a heavy game from my strong defensive foundation. In addition, a continuously growing offensive edge has developed into my game over the last couple of seasons.   Academically, I am a highly focused, successful student who is currently on my school’s Honor roll and striving to attain Honors with distinction by year’s end.

As a kid in community hockey, although always playing on one of the top two teams, I spread my training and focus around to a variety of sports.  I thrived in other sports playing on top teams in lacrosse, basketball, volleyball and track. It wasn’t until Bantam that I chose to start putting extra efforts into my hockey career, and I believe it left me behind a number of my peers that focussed on hockey year round.   That being said, I feel that I’ve since caught up to those peers, even surpassing them in most cases. With my late birth-date (always playing against kids older than me) and late entry into proper year round hockey training, I feel as though my development is just getting started and that my ceiling for success is very high.

The age gap hasn’t hindered my opportunity to grow and gain experiences as I’ve had the opportunity to affiliate with our Association’s Major Midget AAA this last season, where I played in 6 games and several practices.  My personal feelings, along with feedback from the coaches, indicated I was able to more than hold my own at this level. This current spring I have also had the opportunity to participate and thrive in several AJHL junior camps.  From the camps I received positive coaching reviews which included playing in a final top 40 game and being invited to main camps.

When not training, playing hockey or studying, I use my spare time to volunteer coach lacrosse.   I have also had the experience of officiating lacrosse for a couple of years, both to earn a few dollars and to gain a referee’s perspective on the game.   In the summer I work as a junior coordinator for a children’s day camp, planning and assisting with crafts and sporting activities. I really enjoy my time doing this, particularly when teaching and playing daily sports with kids aged 4-11.

Thank you for taking the time to read my biography and learn a little bit more about me and my goals in pursuing elite, and ultimately, professional hockey.

CONTACT JACK

2 + 6 =

If you’re a player and you’d like to have your career exposed to thousands of teams or you’re a team / scout and you’d like to have access to thousands of other players, click the button below and register today.